Storytelling and Laughter

“Humor is the affectionate communication of insight.” Leo Rosen

Meet Christian author Marilynn Griffith. In the bio on her website she describes herself as “mom to a tribe, wife to a deacon and proof that God gives second chances.”

Marilynn Griffith, Authr

Lynn:  Welcome, Marilynn! Give us a short history of your writing career.

Marilynn:  Though I’d been writing all my life, I never thought I could be a published author. I started a novel in 1994 (someone laughed at me and I quit) and again in 1999 only to not finish. Well, in the summer of 2001 I had what I thought was a heart attack and along with my family all the characters from my unfinished stories appeared before my eyes. I told God that if He let me live, I’d write instead of waiting for some elusive perfect time. It took another year o finish the book, another year to get an agent. That was six books ago.

Lynn:  What do you think defines a Marilynn Griffth novel?

If The Shoe Fits    Made of Honor                     

Marilynn:  Faith, friendship and forgiveness make a Marilynn Griffith novel. I like to say that my books are serious fun, they’ll make you laugh… and cry.

Lynn:  Your characters are quirky and fun. How do you breathe life into such an entertaining cast?

Marilynn:  I come from a family of very fun and funny people. I grew up thinking that everyone was that way until I got to college and realized that the storytelling and laughter that I’d grown up with were special. I ask God to impart some of that to my characters. Sometimes though, my characters just show up full grown and start talking.

Lynn:  What are some of the serious messages you want readers to take away from your books?

Marilynn:  One message that resounds in my first book Made of Honor and all of my books is that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. I meet so many girls and women who are jealous, depressed and self-loathing. That makes me sad. The world wants to tell us that we’ll never measure up, but in God’s eyes we set- and break- every standard.

Lynn:  If you had to give career advice to a new author what would you tell her?

Marilynn:  Oh, my. Pray, honey. Pray. Ask God if this is really what your purpose is. Then, as Maya Angelou says, if you can’t get out of it, get into it. Read good work: books, magazines, poetry, the Bible, etc. Write as much as you can, wherever you can. Get feedback from someone who knows what they’re talking about. Most of all though, just keep going. This race isn’t given to the swift. Publishing is an up-and-down business.

Lynn:  Do you have any appearances planned?

Marilynn:  My schedule is lighter this year than last, so I’ve done a lot of my engagements. I’ll be teaching the fiction track at Sandy Cove Christian Writer’s conference in October as well as teaching at the Write the Book Conference in Conyers, Georgia in July. I’m in the process of setting a few other venues for the end of the year.

Thank you so much for having me, Lynn. I appreciate it!

Visit Marilynn at her website:   Serious Fun    You can also find her blog Rhythms of Grace at her website

 Visit  FaithChick.com a blog where Marilynn is one of the contributors

This entry was posted in Interesting People. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storytelling and Laughter

  1. Marilyn,
    Enjoyed reading about you. If your answers are a sampling of your writing, then I look forward to reading your works, because as I read your interview, I smiled. Much success to you in all that you do.

    Love & Peace,
    VeeJay

  2. Veejay,

    I’m glad the interview made you smile. Your site did the same for me. Much success to you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

